Crazy Love

Standard

So I finished the book, “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. I definitely recommend this book to you if you have any doubts about your faith or just want to be reminded how great His love is for us. There were a few things in this book that I just HAVE to share with anyone who reads this blog.

When I was reading it I was examining my life and how I love God. In the book, the author said, “Do you love this God who is everything, or do you just love everything He gives you?” This is the first time that I have ever thought about that. To kind of clear things up this is an example that the author had considering a parent-child relationship, “I don’t really love you or want to love you, but I would like my allowance please.” After I read that page, I had to put my book down and evaluate how I love Him. Do I seriously just love that he does good for me, or do I love HIM and only HIM? I really do think that I can admit that I often just thank Him for what he has done for me. I don’t praise Him the way I should.

In another part of the book, the author talked about having faith. He said that he was once asked the question, “What are you doing right now that requires faith?” He said he was deeply affected by this question, and I was also affected. The author quoted a verse. Hebrews 11:6 says, “Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” We must not stay comfortable with our lives to get by. Our faith is not being tested if we just stay where we are and do what we normally do. God calls us to trust Him so much that we are unafraid to put ourselves in situations where we will be in trouble if He doesn’t come through.

This book was really amazing. I think everyone should read it!!! I learned so much from it!

Do something good for someone else 🙂

About jessicagravert

I'm twenty years old and go to the University of Northern Iowa where I'll be a junior. I plan on being an elementary teacher after I graduate. Maybe a Special Education teacher or a Literacy teacher. Whatever God takes me, I'll go!!! I have loving friends and family who I spend most of my time with. Hope you enjoy my blog :)

Leave a Reply

