Things are Changing!

Standard

Okay, so I haven’t blogged since first semester……. Sorry about it!! I was so busy second semester and definitely got off the track of blogging! There has been so many changes that has happened in my life the past four-ish months! I’ll catch you up…somehow.

First of all, my second semester was taken over by a practicum that I did for my special education minor. It was pretty intense, but SO worth it! We were paired up with a student who needed extra help in something. We had to collect data on their behavior and their progress in the specific skill we were to help the student on. I remember sitting in the first couple classes feeling like I had no idea how I was going to get through the semester. I ended up being paired with an eight grader who needed extra help in math. I was scared (shame on me I know). Reason 1- the highest grade level I’ve taught was 3rd grade and Reason 2- I am terrible at teaching math. First time I ever met this student she wouldn’t look at me and just raised her hand when I said hi. She did not want to work with me. Her teachers told me that she would probably not want to talk to me and would most likely refuse to do some things. I was like ‘shaking in my boots’ (haha). Once we had our first one-on-one I felt like I was able to open her up a little bit. BUT she refused to do almost anything of mine when we started the teaching part. I was becoming super discouraged because I was working so hard and staying up late to find things to make her more excited about working with me, but she wouldn’t do anything that I planned. Finally, I went to my professors to ask for assistance and they decided that I should just switch students. It was a good and bad thing. I felt like I was quitting on this student who was refusing my agenda, BUT I knew that I would learn more if I had a compliant student. I ended up getting a 5th grade student who had so much fun working with me. I am so thankful for the whole Phase One practicum experience. I feel way more confident in my teaching!! I’m starting my Phase Two next semester and I hear it is even more work (yay?). I’m sure I’ll feel more confident after phase two also, but I just want to enjoy my summer for now!! 🙂

Second, thanks to a good friend (that I met in my practicum) I got a new job at Hudson Middle School doing an after school program there! I haven’t been there long but I enjoy it a lot! My friend ALSO got me a nannying job for the summer. She is definitely a go-to girl for jobs I guess!!! I’m also still working at Younkers so I’m going to be busy this summer!

Third, I moved into a new house in Cedar Falls!! I actually have to be an adult and pay rent! :p I’m really excited about it though. It took awhile, but my mom, dad, and aunt came to help me move in! My room is pretty much all organized somehow! Ha!

I’m really excited for the summer. Every time I don’t have to work I’ll be traveling back to Albia to see my awesome little brother play soccer and baseball! I’m so sad that he only has a couple more years of his sports! 😦 BUT he might possibly (crossing my fingers) be coming to UNI in fall of 2013!!

My friend showed me this quote that she found: “I want you to stop panning, stop wishing, and allow Me to bring it to you. You just keep watching me, expecting the greatest things. Keep learning and listening to the things I tell you. You must wait.” “Don’t be anxious and don’t worry. Don’t look around at the things you think you want. Just keep looking off and away up to Me, or you’ll miss what I have to show you.”

Just wanted to share it because I know that God does have a plan for us all and we need to just wait and trust Him.

Do something good for someone else 🙂

About jessicagravert

I'm twenty years old and go to the University of Northern Iowa where I'll be a junior. I plan on being an elementary teacher after I graduate. Maybe a Special Education teacher or a Literacy teacher. Whatever God takes me, I'll go!!! I have loving friends and family who I spend most of my time with. Hope you enjoy my blog :)

Leave a Reply

